Mintlify

Mintlify is an AI documentation platform that helps software teams publish and maintain product and API docs. You write in MDX through Git or a web editor, and Mintlify hosts the site with search, an API playground and AI features. It runs entirely in the browser. Starter is free, Pro costs $450 a month, and Enterprise is quoted.

What is Mintlify?

Mintlify is a hosted documentation platform that software teams use to publish developer guides, API references and help centres. Pages are written in MDX, a Markdown format that accepts components, and go live with search and a custom domain.

Two editing routes feed the same site. Engineers can keep docs in a GitHub or GitLab repository beside their code, while writers and product staff work in a browser editor, and changes from both sides stay in sync. On the Pro plan, an AI agent drafts page updates when the product changes, and an AI assistant answers reader questions from the published content.

Han Wang and Hahnbee Lee founded the company in San Francisco in 2022, and it went through Y Combinator. The product is active and growing: its website and pricing page were both live during our October 2026 review, and the plan structure had been reworked earlier in the year.

Key Features

Dual editing paths and a built-in API playground carry most of the value, because they let writers and engineers share one site while API pages build themselves from specification files.

  • Web editor: A browser editor lets non-engineers write and update pages without opening a terminal or learning Git. Edits sync back to the connected repository, so support staff and product managers can fix a page the same day they spot a problem.
  • Git sync: Documentation can live as MDX files in a GitHub or GitLab repository next to the product code. Engineers then review docs changes in pull requests, which keeps reference material in step with each release.
  • API playground: Mintlify reads OpenAPI specification files and turns each endpoint into an interactive reference page. Readers can send test requests straight from the page, and reviews mention generated code samples in many programming languages.
  • AI assistant: Readers ask questions in plain language and receive answers drawn from your published documentation, with links to the source pages. The pricing page charges 25 credits per answer, and nothing when the assistant cannot answer, so the Pro allowance of 10,000 monthly credits covers about 400 answers.
  • Docs agent: A paid AI agent drafts documentation updates when your product changes, so outdated pages are less likely to linger. Each automated update costs 250 credits, with no charge when no change is needed, and its output should still go to a writer for checking.
  • Agent access: Every site can expose an MCP server and an llms.txt file for AI coding tools. Assistants used by your customers can then pull current answers from your docs instead of relying on stale training data.

Pros

A professional docs site without a web team is the strongest case for Mintlify, since hosting, search, themes and API pages arrive ready on the free plan.

  • Polished output: The default themes produce clean, readable documentation that looks finished from day one. Small start-ups gain a site that matches much larger competitors without paying a designer or front-end developer.
  • Generous free tier: Starter costs nothing yet includes a custom domain, the web editor, the API playground, an MCP server and five editor seats. That is enough for many early teams to run public docs for months.
  • Shared workflow: Developers commit through Git while writers use the browser editor, and both routes update the same content. Mixed teams avoid the common split where engineering docs and help articles sit in separate tools.
  • Ready for AI readers: MCP and llms.txt support mean coding assistants can read your documentation directly. API companies benefit most, because their users increasingly ask an AI tool before they open a browser tab.
  • Known customers: Mintlify names Microsoft, Amazon, Anthropic, Coinbase, Vercel and Zapier among its users and claims more than 20,000 companies. That track record suggests the platform copes with busy, high-profile developer documentation.

Cons

Price is the sharpest problem: nothing sits between the free Starter plan and Pro at $450 a month, so growing teams face a large single step.

  • Steep upgrade: Moving off Starter means paying $450 a month, with no mid-priced tier in between. Small teams that only need one paid feature may find that cost hard to justify.
  • AI behind a paywall: The docs agent and reader assistant both require Pro. Free users get the hosting and editor but miss the features that most clearly separate Mintlify from older docs tools.
  • Metered credits: AI answers and agent work draw on 10,000 monthly credits, and extra usage costs $0.01 per credit. Busy public sites should watch usage so the monthly bill does not drift upwards.
  • Hosting options gated: Self-hosting, EU hosting and bring-your-own-key encryption appear only on the quoted Enterprise plan. Organisations with strict data residency rules face sales talks or an open-source alternative such as Docusaurus.
  • Conflicting price data: Directories still quote older plans, and one tracker gives $540 for monthly billing. Buyers comparing listings can easily budget for the wrong figure unless they confirm on the official page.

Who is Using Mintlify?

Software companies with public APIs form the core audience, since OpenAPI support and AI-readable docs match how their developers actually look for answers.

  • API companies: Teams with OpenAPI specifications publish interactive reference pages. Their customers test endpoints and copy code samples without leaving the docs.
  • Developer tool start-ups: Small teams use the free plan to launch documentation quickly. They gain a custom domain and search without building their own site.
  • Technical writers: Writers who prefer a visual workspace use the browser editor. They can update guides and help articles while engineers keep working in Git.
  • Enterprises: Larger firms choose the Enterprise tier for SSO, SCIM, role-based access and audit log streaming. Some use OAuth or JWT login to keep internal or partner documentation private.

Pricing

Mintlify offers a free Starter plan, a Pro plan at $450 a month and a quoted Enterprise tier (official pricing page, October 2026).

Plan Price What you get
Starter $0 Core platform, custom domain, MCP server, 5 editors
Pro $450 a month Unlimited editors, AI agent and assistant, 10,000 credits
Enterprise Custom quote SSO, SCIM, roles, SLA, migration help, self-hosting and EU hosting options
Extra credits $0.01 per credit Beyond the Pro allowance

Pro also adds preview deployments, analytics, webhooks and developer APIs. One tracker reports $450 as the annual rate and $540 monthly, while Futurepedia still shows a June 2025 snapshot with Pro at $180 and Growth at $650, and Toolify lists $150 and $550.

Note: Mintlify reshaped its plans in 2026, so treat any figure here as a snapshot and confirm the current rate before signing.

What Makes Mintlify Unique?

AI agents get treated as a second audience beside human readers. Every site can expose an MCP server and an llms.txt file, so coding assistants such as those inside an editor can fetch current answers straight from your documentation.

The paid docs agent closes the loop on the writing side by drafting updates as the product changes. The company has pushed further in 2026 with an Agent Score tool in April and the Mintlify Index in August. Most rival platforms focus on publishing and search, whereas Mintlify combines hosting, reader-facing AI and maintenance help in one product, at the cost of a high Pro price.

Compatibilities and Integrations

Mintlify connects to source control, API specification files and AI tools, while running fully in the browser with a CLI for local work.

  • Platform: The editor and hosted sites run in any modern browser. Engineers also get a command-line tool.
  • Source control: GitHub and GitLab repositories sync both ways with the web editor.
  • API specs: OpenAPI files generate reference pages with an interactive playground.
  • AI tools: Sites can expose an MCP server and llms.txt, and Admin APIs, webhooks and a Slack integration support automation.
  • Access control: Pro adds password protection, while Enterprise offers SSO, SCIM, roles and OAuth or JWT login.

Mintlify Tutorials

A basic docs site can go live in an afternoon on the free plan, provided you already have your content or an OpenAPI file ready.

  1. Sign up for the free Starter plan.
  2. Connect a GitHub or GitLab repository, or start in the web editor.
  3. Choose a theme and add your logo and colours.
  4. Import an OpenAPI file to build interactive API pages.
  5. Invite up to five editors to review the content.
  6. Add your custom domain and publish.

How We Rated It

Mintlify scores 4.2 out of 5, held up by strong features and API tooling but pulled down by the costly jump to Pro.

Criterion Score Why
Accuracy and Reliability 4.3/5 Stable hosting, grounded answers
Ease of Use 4.4/5 Editor or Git, quick setup
Functionality and Features 4.6/5 Docs, API pages, AI agent
Performance and Speed 4.5/5 Fast hosted sites
Customization and Flexibility 4.1/5 Good themes, MDX components
Data Privacy and Security 4.2/5 Trust centre, Enterprise SSO
Support and Resources 4.0/5 Thorough docs, tiered support
Cost-Efficiency 3.2/5 Big jump to Pro
Integration Capabilities 4.3/5 Git, OpenAPI, MCP
Overall Score 4.2/5 Average of the nine criteria

Summary

Mintlify is a strong pick for software companies that want polished developer docs without building and hosting a site themselves. API-first teams gain the most, thanks to OpenAPI pages, a test playground and AI-readable output through MCP and llms.txt. The main drawback is the $450 monthly Pro tier, which holds the AI agent and assistant. Credits are also metered, so heavy public traffic can raise costs. Start on Starter, then trial Pro only once you can measure how much time the agent would save your writers.

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Find answers to the most common questions about our services, reviews, tools, platforms, and more.

Mintlify is used to build and host documentation for software products. Teams publish developer guides, API references and help centres, then use search, an AI assistant and an MCP server so both people and AI tools can find answers quickly.

Yes. The Starter plan costs nothing and includes the core platform, a custom domain, the web editor, an API playground and five editor seats. AI features such as the agent and assistant need the Pro plan, listed at $450 a month in October 2026.

Yes. The pricing page offers a Pro trial and says the first month of AI credits is free with no card required. The exact trial length is not stated clearly, so confirm the terms with Mintlify before your team relies on it.

No. Writers can use the browser editor without any Git knowledge. Engineers can still work through a GitHub or GitLab repository, and changes from either route stay in sync, so mixed teams can share the same documentation.

Yes. Mintlify reads OpenAPI specifications and turns them into reference pages with an interactive playground. Readers can send test requests from the page, and reviews mention generated code samples in many programming languages alongside each endpoint.

The assistant answers reader questions using the content of your documentation site and links to the pages it draws from. It is part of the Pro plan, and each answer uses AI credits from the monthly allowance of 10,000 credits.

Mintlify runs a public trust centre covering SOC 2 and ISO 27001 controls. Starter includes basic authentication, Pro adds password protection, and Enterprise adds SSO, SCIM, role-based access and OAuth or JWT login for private documentation.

GitBook is the closest rival for teams wanting a hosted editor. ReadMe focuses on API portals, Fern generates SDKs alongside docs, and Docusaurus is a free open-source option if you are happy to host and maintain the site yourself.

Mintlify is used to build and host documentation for software products. Teams publish developer guides, API references and help centres, then use search, an AI assistant and an MCP server so both people and AI tools can find answers quickly.

Yes. The Starter plan costs nothing and includes the core platform, a custom domain, the web editor, an API playground and five editor seats. AI features such as the agent and assistant need the Pro plan, listed at $450 a month in October 2026.

Yes. The pricing page offers a Pro trial and says the first month of AI credits is free with no card required. The exact trial length is not stated clearly, so confirm the terms with Mintlify before your team relies on it.

No. Writers can use the browser editor without any Git knowledge. Engineers can still work through a GitHub or GitLab repository, and changes from either route stay in sync, so mixed teams can share the same documentation.

Yes. Mintlify reads OpenAPI specifications and turns them into reference pages with an interactive playground. Readers can send test requests from the page, and reviews mention generated code samples in many programming languages alongside each endpoint.

The assistant answers reader questions using the content of your documentation site and links to the pages it draws from. It is part of the Pro plan, and each answer uses AI credits from the monthly allowance of 10,000 credits.

Mintlify runs a public trust centre covering SOC 2 and ISO 27001 controls. Starter includes basic authentication, Pro adds password protection, and Enterprise adds SSO, SCIM, role-based access and OAuth or JWT login for private documentation.

GitBook is the closest rival for teams wanting a hosted editor. ReadMe focuses on API portals, Fern generates SDKs alongside docs, and Docusaurus is a free open-source option if you are happy to host and maintain the site yourself.

Reviews (0)

Write a Review

Write a Review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your rating *
Select a rating